Psalm 70

Hello, my friend.  So good to be together.

Now, after that long, solemn, often depressing Psalm last week, we come to this short but almost similar statement today in PSALM 70.  I am startled by the intimate way the Psalmist seeks to remind the Lord that it’s time He hastens to save him.  I sometimes think that, since God knows all that is happening and will happen, it’s not proper for me to express my impatience at what seems to me to be His very slow response.  We must always respect God’s sovereignty, but we must also remember that sometimes what seems like delays are in fact opportunities for us to prove our desire, even determination that God responds.  I think of that almost humorous illustration from Luke 11:5.  The Lord had just taught the disciples what we call the Lord’s prayer, and concludes it by saying, “Imagine what would happen if you went to a friend in the middle of the night and said, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves of bread.  An old friend traveling through just showed up and I don’t have a thing on hand.  The friend answers from his bed, ‘Don’t bother me.  The door’s locked;  my children are all down for the night;  I can’t get up to give you anything’  “But let me tell you, even if he won’t get up because he’s a friend, if you stand your ground, knocking and waking all the neighbors, he’ll finally get up and get you whatever you need.  Here’s what I’m saying:  Ask and you’ll get;  seek and you’ll find;  knock and the door will be open.”  And Christ continues, “Don’t bargain with God.  Be direct.  Ask for what you need…” (from Peterson’s translation, The Message.)

Insistent prayer doesn’t change God’s mind, it simply demonstrates that I am serious about my praying and eager to be assured of God’s presence, His power, His purpose in my life.  And after these first verses in Psalm 70, David responds with praise saying, “May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you;  may those who love your salvation always say, ‘Let God be exalted!’”   But then he continues to demonstrate his eagerness by saying, “Yet I am poor and needy; come quickly to me, O God.  You are my help and my deliverer.  O Lord, do not delay.”

This is a great encouragement for us to pray diligently, without ceasing, for this keeps us in the constant presence of the Lord, and available to be used and blessed by the Holy Spirit. 

“Thank you, Lord, for reminding us of this oft-neglected but measureless resource granted us in prayer.  Forgive us for our casualness, our carelessness in obeying your command, your invitation to labor in prayer.  Thank you for those in this fellowship.  We are glad to be coworkers with you.” 

So grateful for your fellowship.  Cheerio!

These meditations on the Psalms were written by Village Schools of the Bible Founder, Monty Sholund and first published in book form as Monty’s Musings on the Psalms in 2000. Copies are available for $10 and can be ordered here.

To subscribe to these blog posts please enter your email address in the space provided below.

Psalm 70

Leave a comment