Meet our summer class teachers: Harlan Seri

Harlan will be teaching a class on the book of Exodus over Zoom, starting on May 13.

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I am a pastor in Clear Lake, Iowa.  It is a resort town with great fishing, swimming and bike riding.  Clear Lake is famous for Buddy Holly playing his last concert here.

I have been a full-time pastor now for 12 years.  Before that, I was a
part-time pastor in Brownton, Minnesota and for 25 years I was a full time Minneapolis public school teacher. I have a Master’s degree in Theological Studies from the University of Northwestern – Saint Paul, (Northwestern College when I went there), in Roseville, MN.

I am married to Debi who is a cardiac sonographer.  We have 2 daughters and 4 grandchildren.  I love being a pastor and I knew at the age of 17 that God called me.  I enjoy traveling to Door County, love riding bike, and enjoy reading Bible commentaries.  I have been online mentoring people with Cover to Cover Bible study for the past 3 years.

Why are you passionate about teaching the Word?

I love helping people understand how God loves them and wants what is best for them.  I enjoy seeing the “light bulb” go on when they connect events in the Bible with their own daily lives.

Who or what inspired your career path?

My mother loved the Lord and Jesus was her best friend.  Even as a little child, I could see that Jesus was so real to her.  I don’t think she inspired me to be a pastor, but she sure prayed an awful lot for me!

How did you get involved with VSB?

My wife went through Cover to Cover Bible study with Max Frazier and always talked about Cover to Cover being the best Bible study ever.  I had taken a class on the book of Jude from Warren Coe and I enjoyed his teaching style so much that I decided to go through Cover to Cover with him.  It was great!  Warren later asked me to substitute teach for him and then to mentor people online.  It has been a treat for me to be connected with Village Schools of the Bible.

What inspired you to choose this topic to teach this summer?

I love Exodus because of the great stories in there (Moses, the plagues, the Passover, the golden calf, etc.).  But I had always “bogged” down when reading the last 20 chapters of Exodus.  I came to realize that in those last 20 chapters God wants to reveal His character to us and He wants a home.  Yes, God wants a home.  Exodus helps us better understand the Old Testament prophets but also the New Testament.    I also want people to understand what the purpose of our salvation is (it’s more than just going to heaven when we die).

What challenges do you see in current culture that can be addressed through knowing God’s Word?

I feel that because of all the uncertainty in our world today, the Bible helps us understand that God is still in control, that he can even use evil for good (see Genesis 50:20), and that God has a plan.

What would you say is the most important thing for Christians to know about the Bible?

That Jesus loves you, died on the cross for you and that we need him as our Lord and Savior.

Summer Class Information

Exodus: The Reason for our Salvation Register

Virtual Class over Zoom | 3 weeks | $30 | Thursdays, May  13, 20, & 27 | 6:30-8:30 pm

God saves us so that we can know Him and take on His character.  This is what He wanted for those Israelites in slavery.  Canaan was not the goal, but it did fulfill a promise.  Come and learn more about God’s holiness, the 10 Plagues, the Mosaic Covenant and the Tabernacle.  Perhaps you yourself will hear a “call” like Moses during this time.

A limited number of scholarships are available for this course. Contact the office for more details.

Meet our summer class teachers: Harlan Seri

Leave a comment