Psalm 66

Hello, my friend.  

It’s really exciting to see how David approaches God in our PSALM 66 for today.  In the first four verses he says, “Shout with joy…sing the glory…say to God, your deeds are awesome… all the earth sings praise to you…Selah!!”  And this little untranslatable word, ‘Selah’, simply literally means, “Wow, think about that!!”

And David praises the Lord for a whole list of reasons there in vss. 8-12… “God preserved our lives, keeping our feet from sliding.”  And he thanks God for “testing us, refining us like silver, bringing us into prison, laying burdens on our backs, even letting men ride over our heads, and we went through fire and water, but you, O Lord, brought us to a place of abundance. (vss.10-12)”   That’s the way to look at testing.  When God is in it, He has promised to bring us out of the testing to a place of blessing.  So we should shout with Job, who says while in the midst of terrible testing, “God knows the way that I take; when He has tested me, I will come forth as gold.  I have treasured the words of His mouth more than my daily bread.” (23:10-12.) That’s the way to face testing.  Simply know that when we are keeping in step with the Spirit, what God permits is always for our blessing and His glory.

And David says in our Psalm for today, “I cried out to the Lord with my mouth; his praise was on my tongue.  If I had cherished sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened.”  Exactly. Why should He!!   So often people think, regardless of how they are living or lusting or sinning that the moment they pray God will answer them.  Why should He?  We read He is the rewarder of those who diligently seek him, not those who feebly cry out to Him when they have a problem.  God rewards those who diligently seek Him (Heb.11:6), not those who occasionally go through little pious motions when it pleases them.  David was a prisoner of God, and found God to be His dearest treasure.  In spite of His failures, He shouts there in vs. 10 “Praise be to God who has not rejected my prayer or withheld his love from me.”  And that because he could, by Grace, say, “If I had cherished sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened.”  Are you going through a time of barrenness, even bitterness, of spiritual carelessness?  Remember, the road to the throne is paved with stones of sincere intention and obedience to bring God all the praise.

“Thank you, Lord Jesus, for your Word in this time of thought, prayer and praise. Thank you that you, again and again, bring us to a place of abundance. Bless my friend alongside, and those who, this day, are in urgent need. We need to affirm our trust in you, day by day. You are a great God, and we praise you with full hearts.”

Thank you, my friend, for your prayers and encouragement.  Cheerio!

These meditations on the Psalms were written by Village Schools of the Bible Founder, Monty Sholund and first published in book form as Monty’s Musings on the Psalms in 2000. Copies are available for $10 and can be ordered here.

To subscribe to these blog posts please enter your email address in the space provided below.

Psalm 66

Leave a comment